Prog Rock

Ryo Okumoto (Spock’s Beard): annunciato il suo nuovo album da solista

Di Daniele D'Adamo - 7 Giugno 2022 - 0:02
Ryo Okumoto (Spock’s Beard): annunciato il suo nuovo album da solista

Comunicato stampa:

RYO OKUMOTO, tastierista di lunga data del gruppo progressive rock Spock’s Beard, è lieto di annunciare il suo nuovo album solista, “The Myth of the Mostrophus”, in uscita il 29 luglio 2022 su InsideOutMusic. L’album è caratterizzato da apparizioni di un certo calibro tra cui gli attuali ed ex compagni di band degli Spock’s Beard:

Nick D’Virgilio (Big Big Train, Spock’s Beard) – Drums & Vocals
Al Morse (Spock’s Beard) – Guitar
Dave Meros (Spock’s Beard) – Bass
Ted Leonard (Spock’s Beard. Transatlantic) – Vocals
Jimmy Keegan (Spock’s Beard) – Vocals
Steve Hackett (Genesis) – Guitar
Michael Sadler (Saga, ProgJect) – Vocals
Mike Keneally (Steve Vai, Frank Zappa, ProgJect) – Guitar
Jonathan Mover (Joe Satriani, ProgJect) – Drums
Marc Bonila (Keith Emerson/Kevin Gilbert) – Guitar
Doug Wimbish (Living Colour) – Bass
Randy McStine (McStine & Minnemann, Porcupine Tree) – Guitars & Vocals
Lyle Workman (Todd Rundgren) – Guitar
Michael Whiteman (I Am the Manic Whale) – Guitars & Vocals

Disponibile un breve trailer del disco:

1. Mirror Mirror (9:27)
2. Turning Point (6:53)
3. The Watchmaker (Time On His Side) (6:25)
4. Maximum Velocity (8:11)
5. Chrysalis (7:35)
6. The Myth Of The Mostrophus (22:14)

L’album è stato registrato e mixato da Rich Mouser ed è già disponibile per il preorder:

Twenty years since Ryo Okumoto’s last solo album ‘Coming Home’ (2002), work on the new album began in November 2000, when Okumoto reached out to I Am The Manic Whale vocalist/bassist Michael Whiteman, following that band’s performance on a livestream event that Okumoto had taken part in.  An exchange of demos resulted in the writing of the initial tracks for the album. Okumoto then reached out the fellow Spock’s Beard bandmates (Nick D’Virgilio, Alan Morse, Dave Meros, Ted Leonard and Jimmy Keegan) to join in and the album started to take shape before rounding out with additional guest stars through his Okumoto’s new group ProgJect including Michael Sadler, Jonathan Mover and Mike Keneally. With the additions of Steve Hackett, Marc Bonila, Doug Wimbish, Randy McStine, and Lyle Workman, the star-studded lineup was complete. The result is a prog rock tour de force from one of the most entertaining and influential artists of prog’s modern era.