Haken: in arrivo il nuovo album “Virus”, guarda il video di ‘Prosthetic’

Di Daniele D'Adamo - 5 Aprile 2020 - 0:14
Haken: in arrivo il nuovo album “Virus”, guarda il video di ‘Prosthetic’

Comunicato stampa (Inside Out Music Italy):

HAKEN – in arrivo il nuovo album “Virus”; guarda il video di “Prosthetic”
I progressive rocker HAKEN annunciano la pubblicazione del nuovo studio album “Virus”, il seguito di “Vector” del 2018. L’album sarà pubblicato il 5 giugno 2020 su Inside Out Music. A questo link un video di presentazione di “Virus”:

La band presenta anche il video del primo singolo ed opening track “Prosthetic”, diretto da Vicente Cordero e disponibile a questo link:

Ancora una volta Adam “Nolly” Getgood ha mixato quello che forse è il più eclettico album degli Haken di sempre. Sette tracce che mostrano le molteplici influenze della band, tutte miscelate con il riconoscibilissimo sound degli Haken. L’artwork è stato curato da Blacklake, collaboratore di lunga data della band.

“Virus” sarà pubblicato nei formati Limited 2CDStandard CDGatefold 2LP+CD e in digitale. Disponibile qui il preorder:

Di seguito artwork e tracklist:

1.    Prosthetic
2.    Invasion
3.    Carousel
4.    The Strain
5.    Canary Yellow
6.    Messiah Complex i: Ivory Tower
7.    Messiah Complex ii: A Glutton for Punishment
8.    Messiah Complex iii: Marigold
9.    Messiah Complex iv: The Sect
10.  Messiah Complex v: Ectobius Rex
11.  Only Stars

The band comments: “’Prosthetic’ was the first song we completed during the ‘Virus’ writing sessions and we always felt it would be the perfect opener for the album. It’s a very guitar heavy track with its roots in 80s thrash riffing, but with the unconventional rhythmic twists and turns we often like to explore in Haken. We sadly never had a Jeff Hanneman and Robert Fripp collaboration, but this song at least draws on inspiration from them both!

Lyrically the song is a bridge between our two albums ‘Vector’ and ‘Virus’. The message was brilliantly brought to life by video director Vicente Cordero, who also beautifully captured the live energy of the band in a way that both enhances the song, and perfectly sets the scene for what’s to come.”

Drummer Ray Hearne reveals, “since releasing ‘The Mountain’ in 2013, one question has been asked of us time and time again, ‘who is the Cockroach King?’. This is something we were interested in exploring more deeply too, so we essentially did that through our music; elaborating and expanding upon the intervallic, harmonic, rhythmic and lyrical themes of that song. The end result is in an arc which spans across two albums: ‘Vector’ and ‘Virus’”.

Since releasing ‘Vector’ in October 2018, Haken have completed headline tours the world over, played sold-out shows across Europe and North America as support for Devin Townsend and picked up a Prog award for their efforts too! All the while, they have been quietly, secretly working on the follow-up album, entitled ‘Virus’.

Guitarist Richard Henshall had this to say about the production, “Using Nolly again was a no-brainer, as we wanted the two albums to be sonically connected. But having just spent a day mixing with him in his studio, it’s obvious that this album will be an evolution of the ‘Vector’ sound. These songs seem to allow a lot more freedom of creativity with the production, so we’re excited to see where it leads”. 

‘Virus’ is the culmination of a musical thought experiment which started with the ‘Vector’ writing sessions in 2017 and holds intriguing potential for the band’s future, as vocalist Ross Jennings explains, “whilst ‘Virus’ can absolutely be enjoyed as a stand-alone work, it is thematically and conceptually linked with ‘Vector’, so our intention is to perform both albums back to back for a special performance someday”.

HAKEN are:
Ross Jennings
Richard Henshall
Charlie Griffiths
Diego Tejeida
Conner Green
Ray Hearne

HAKEN online: