Megadeth: David Ellefson e Chris Poland pubblicano ‘The Raven’, brano postumo di Gar Samuelson

Di Orso Comellini - 29 Gennaio 2022 - 7:37
Megadeth: David Ellefson e Chris Poland pubblicano ‘The Raven’, brano postumo di Gar Samuelson

Gli ex-Megadeth David Ellefson e Chris Poland hanno completato e pubblicato ‘The Raven’, brano postumo di Gar Samuelson e dei suoi Fatal Opera. Come largamente anticipato, da anni Combat Records lavorava all’album “Fatal Opera 3”, una raccolta di brani registrati su demo da Gar Samuelson, e suo fratello Stew, prima della sua scomparsa nel 1999.

Il progetto per l’album postumo nacque nel 2018, quando Andy Freeman (voce) e Stew Samuelson si misero al lavoro per il remix di Eleventh Hour, il secondo album della band. Quest’ultimo trovò tutta una serie di demo che altrimenti sarebbero andati perduti, in parte danneggiati. I due poi invitarono David Ellefson e Chris Poland a partecipare al singolo di ‘The Raven’, per completare l’eredità lasciata da Gar, che finalmente vede la luce e trovate di seguito, assieme alle info della release.

“Fatal Opera 3” track listing:

01. The Raven (feat. David Ellefson & Chris Poland)
02. Live Again
03. Mask Of Time (feat. Chris Poland)
04. Killers In The Night
05. Swept Away
06. Burning Of The Midnight Lamp
07. 10 Years Gone
08. Little Sister
09. Salt
10. Rise
11. Wings Of Pain
12. Jumped In The Pot

“Fatal Opera 3” lineup:

Andy Freeman – Vocals, Keyboard, Guitar
Stew Samuelson – Guitar
Billy Brehme – Guitar
Travis Karcher – Bass
Gar Samuelson – Drums

Megadeth David Ellefson Chris Poland Gar Samuelson

Poland recalls:

“Back in the day, long before MEGADETHGar and his brother Stew were the heart and soul of a heavy instrumental jazz/rock project called THE NEW YORKERS. I played guitar with them and Robbie ‘Pag’ Pagliari played fretless bass. It was everything we could do just to keep up. Stew‘s right hand was a machine. Flawless. And Gar was right there with him always pushing things to the next level. And again, these two brothers were the heart and soul of FATAL OPERA.

“It was a privilege to be a part of this release, and playing on ‘The Raven’ with David Ellefson made it that much more special. Gar was a true artist. Be it his amazing drumming, his painting or his wood sculpture pipe (he made by hand). Gar was one of a kind. And here GarStew and crew push the limits of experimental metal. These songs are complex yet accessible. Music with a dark side that draws you into their world and keeps you wondering ‘what’s next!'” Poland also added additional guitar work to the track “Mask Of Time”.

Ellefson adds:

“This is a really cool moment for Chris and me to musically reunite with our friend Gar, now almost 35 years after our last studio session together, which was the 1987 re-recording of ‘These Boots Are Made for Walkin” for the ‘Dudes’ movie soundtrack, compiled by director Penelope Spheeris.

Gar was always such a free spirit with his music; no click tracks or digital reinvention for him. And he seldom played the same thing twice; quite unusual for heavy metal. He just went for it with real gusto and that became the hallmark of his sound.”

He continues: “When I was laying down the bass track for ‘The Raven’, it reminded me once again of Gar‘s spontaneity in the studio, as if we were recording live in the same room together. I’m super happy these tracks were brought to life so we could have one last go around with Gar behind the kit. It’s a reminder that he truly was one of the greats.”