Frost*: ecco il primo video dal nuovo disco “Day and Age”

Di Daniele D'Adamo - 22 Marzo 2021 - 2:00
Frost*: ecco il primo video dal nuovo disco “Day and Age”

Comunicato stampa:

FROST* hanno recentemente annunciato “Day And Age”, il primo album in studio in cinque anni, in uscita il 14 maggio 2021 su Inside Out Music. Il quarto album della band vede Jem Goodfrey accompagnato ancora una volta da John Mitchell e Nathan King e tre differenti batteristi ospiti: Kaz Rodriguez (Chaka Khan, Josh Groban), Darby Todd (The Darkness, Martin Barre) e Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, Mister Mister). L’album vede la partecipazione anche dell’attore Jason Isaacs.

La band pubblica il primo singolo “Terrestrial”, guarda il video:

Il commento di Jem Godfrey:
“Terrestrial parla di Donald Crowhurst che è scomparso mentre gareggiava nella Gara del Golden Globe del Sunday Times. L’ultima pagina del suo diario di bordo conteneva le parole: ‘Non ho bisogno di prolungare il gioco. È finito – È finito’.”

Gli otto brani di “Day And Age” sono stati registrati a cavallo tra il 2019 e il 2020. Di seguito disponibile l’artwork creato da Carl Glover di Aleph Studios (Steven Wilson, Marillion, Steve Jansen) e la tracklist dell’album:

1.    Day And Age 11:492.    Terrestrial 5:133.    Waiting For The Lie 4:314.    The Boy Who Stood Still 7:335.    Island Life 4:146.    Skywards 4:137.    Kill The Orchestra 9:278.    Repeat To Fade 6:14L’album sarà pubblicato nei formati Limited 2CD (con disco bonus con l’intero album in versione strumentale), Gatefold 180g 2LP+CD (con incisione sul lato D) e in digitale. Il preorder è disponibile a questo link:

In September 2019 Godfrey and Mitchell rented a cottage for a week in Helford, Cornwall and set about converting it into a recording studio. Renaming it “Troubled Cow Studios”, day one saw them write and record “Skywards” in complete demo form, “Island Life” was written on day two. On day three, the duo wrote what was to become the title and defining track of the new album, “Day And Age”.

The following January, the band setup a new temporary studio for a further week in a converted coastguard tower at Dungeness in East Sussex. “We were 30 feet by the sea, next to a nuclear power station and a lighthouse, in midwinter! So there was hardly any daylight and the weather was dreadful”, laughs bassist Nathan King, “We wrote “Terrestrial” and “Repeat To Fade” there and in my head you can absolutely hear the bleak isolated oppression having an effect on us. The songs we wrote were far darker – the wind howling round the building at night, the power station generating crackles on the audio, a huge lighthouse next door sweeping a vast light into the fog every 30 seconds and John screaming “ENJOY YOURSELVES YOU SCUM” into a microphone. It was absolutely brilliant!”.

In November 2020, Frost* released the career-retrospective collection ‘13 Winters’ which featured all their studio albums to date, plus live material, b-sides & last years ‘Others’ EP, all packaged in a beautiful artbook.

Frost* was formed in 2004 by keyboard player and singer Jem Godfrey. Released in 2006 the band’s debut album “Milliontown” was an instant success and is regarded by many as a classic in the modern prog rock genre featuring John Mitchell on guitar, John Jowitt on bass and Andy Edwards on drums. The band quickly followed it up with “Experiments In Mass Appeal” in 2008, in many ways the antithesis of “Milliontown” featuring a much more stripped back sound, more concise songs and a new band member and singer in the form of Dec Burke.

The live album “The Philadelphia Experiment” followed in 2009 and the a long gap followed before 3rd album “Falling Satellites” was released in 2016 with a new line-up of Nathan King on bass and Craig Blundell on drums, plus returning guitarist and singer John Mitchell on guitar who also co-wrote much of the album with Jem Godfrey.

FROST* Online:

>> Clicca qui per acquistare l’album <<