Death Doom

Lurk: ad aprile il quarto album “Aegis”; ascolta i primi estratti

Di Orso Comellini - 29 Gennaio 2023 - 10:36
Lurk: ad aprile il quarto album “Aegis”; ascolta i primi estratti

I finlandesi Lurk pubblicheranno il prossimo 7 aprile, per Transcending Obscurity Records, il loro quarto album intitolato “Aegis”. Del nuovo lavoro è già possibile ascoltare due brani in anteprima su Youtube, ‘Blood Surge’ e ‘The Blooming’, e un terzo su Bandcamp.

Like many Finnish bands, Lurk too have their own sound that they’ve perfected over the years. You can call it dreamy, progressive, atmospheric, ethereal – it’s not too easy to explain but thankfully we can listen to the music and try and figure it out for ourselves. Please do take your time with it – it’s a different beast. You can find a few songs on Bandcamp HERE but it’s best to consume the album in its entirety. 

Lurk (Finland) – Aegis (Sludge​/​Doom Metal)

Genre – Sludge​/​Doom Metal
Release Date – 7th April 2023
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of – Altar of Betelgeuse, Eibon, Usnea, Subterraen, Adramelech, Fleshpress

Finnish band Lurk return with their unique brand of slow, dreamy, unpredictable and vile sludge/doom to confound and enthrall listeners all over again. The deceptively catchy and entrancing quality of the music has been honed and the music slithers in its inimitable way, progressing in directions not easy to ascertain. The music itself is a blend of multiple subgenres and is far too evolved now for the influences to be clearly identified. The band upholds this singular sound throughout the album and still manages to give each of the seven songs their own identity. Without a perceptible disruption of momentum, they all succeed in shifting the mood their own way, adding variations and conveying a wide range of emotions. For an album that may seem innocuous, it will leave you emotionally vulnerable by the end of it all.

Track list –
1. Ashlands
2. Blood Surge
3. Hauta
4. Infidel
5. Kehto
6. Shepherd’s Ravine
7. The Blooming

Line up –
Arttu Pulkkinen – Guitars
Eetu Nurmi – Bass
Kalle Nurmi – Drums, Guitars, Synths
Kimmo Koskinen – Vocals, Guitars, Effects

Baritone saxophone in “Blood Surge” by Aino Heikkonen

Artwork by Paolo Girardi