Napalm Death: disponibile il video di ‘A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen’

Di Daniele D'Adamo - 6 Settembre 2020 - 0:06
Napalm Death: disponibile il video di ‘A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen’

Comunicato stampa (Century Media Records Italy):

NAPALM DEATH pubblicheranno il nuovo album “Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism” il 18 settembre 2020 su Century Media Records. A dimostrare la grande varietà di genere del nuovo album la grindcore band inglese rende disponibile il video del nuovo singolo “A Bellyful Of Salt And Spleen”, creato da Sam Edwards e Khaled Lowe di A-Side Films

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” è il seguito di “Apex Predator – Easy Meat”, ultimo album della band inglese pubblicato nel 2015. L’album è stato registrato e prodotto ancora una volta da Russ Russell mentre l’artwork è stato curato da Frode Sylthe. L’album è già disponibile per il preorder:

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” sarà disponibile nei formati Standard Jewelcase CDlimited Mediabook CD (+ Patch) con 3 bonus track (“Feral Carve-up”, “White Kross” (Sonic Youth cover-version) e “Blissful Myth” (Rudimentary Peni cover-version); i formati LP conterranno un poster double-face A2 e la bonus track “Air’s Turned Foul in Here”. Di seguito tutti i dettagli delle versioni in formato vinile:

European market:

  • Black LP – Unlimited
  • “Colour is of no concern” LP (creamy white vinyl) – 200x copies from CM Webshop
  • “All that glitters is not enriching” LP (golden vinyl) – 400x copies from CM Distro
  • “Era of dazzling indifference” LP (neon orange vinyl) – 200x copies from EMP
  • “The cold shoulder of isolationism” LP (transp. blue vinyl) – 200x copies from Nuclear Blast
  • “See right through you” LP (clear vinyl) – 300x copies from Napalm Death

USA market:

  • Black LP – Unlimited
  • “Germicidal yellow swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from CM Webshop
  • “Stressed sanguine blood smear vinyl” – 500x copies from Indie Stores
  • “Mucus with envy swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from Revolver Magazine
  • “De-weaponised steel and black swirled vinyl” – 200x copies from Decibel Magazine

Di seguito artwork e tracklist di “Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism”

1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

NAPALM DEATH’s vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway commented about the song/video as follows: “’A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen’, you could say, is about building and breaking down in the same discordant breath. The building came in the sense of many layers of coruscating industrial ambience, all marching to the beat of a home-made drum kit consisting of rubbish bins, oil drums and industrial screw parts and other bits that Shane could find littered around the studio grounds. The scope and gravity and density just demanded a vocal that was as baritone and anguished as I could push out of myself.

The breaking down side of it was the intention to just focus minds to understand that people who traverse continents, suffocate in confined spaces or drown grasping for assistance are as keen to live in dignity and peace –  and without violence and hunger – as the rest of us. As ever, quite simply, we are all human beings and if that means anything anymore, a helping hand is the least we can offer.

Sam Edwards & Khaled Lowe, directing the video, really focussed our minds in the way they wanted to drill down into the indifference generated around these things – via some incredible animation and suchlike married to the stuttering engines of unseaworthy vessels and the precision shunt of our industrial pounding. The whole visual concept of beach life going on around bodies washed up on the shore is a grotesque scenario that illustrates how meaningless those we can’t connect to our own small universe can become.”

And video directors Sam Edwards / Khaled Lowe from A-Side Films added the following comment: “This film was commissioned by UK Grindcore pioneers NAPALM DEATH. Both the song & video address the disturbing prevalence of the “anti-outsider” in contemporary society; from popular right wing publications filled with hate-fuelled rhetoric through to the chilling nonchalance of holiday makers found relaxing in front of washed up corpses.

Based on real events, the film uses a combination of live action and animation to depict a doomed voyage; Escaping their ruined city, a family of refugees meet a tragic end when their boat sinks during a storm. As the dinghy sinks near the shoreline, indifferent tourists party & picnic. Bodies wash up on the beach while people take selfies, heedless to the carnage behind them. The story concludes with images of a vast “sea cemetery” of floating gravestones & an obscure ghostly figure drifting on the horizon – these represent the countless lives lost in the pursuit of freedom from oppression and the ease with which they are forgotten.”

(From left to right on photo!)
Shane Embury – Bass reverberations, barks and moans, noise-testing everyday objects
Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway – Bawling, shrieking, intermittent baritone
Danny Herrera – Turbulent beat throes

Century Media Records online:

Century Media Webshop: